Shocker : Afghanistan on a roll to beat Sri Lanka by 91 runs in Asia Cup 2018

Sunset and sunrise at the same time, you can say in a way considering the match between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. Srilankan cricket is in serious trouble considering their recent match results in international cricket, bringing back to Lasith Malinga could’t change their fortune as the new era of Afghanistan cricket has started who beat Sri lanka in the 3rd match of Asia Cup 2018 by 91 runs and knocked out Sri Lanka from the Asia Cup.

Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan Asia Cup 2018 Analysis : 3rd Match

Toss : Afghanistan won the toss and opted to bat first.
Man of the Match : Rahmat Shah

Match Date Afghanistan Inns  Sri Lanka Inns Result MoM
Afghanistan vs
Sri Lanka
Monday, September 17 249-10 (50) 158-10(41.2) Afghanistan won by 91 runs Rahmat Shah

Afghanistan won the toss and opted to bat first against the previous match looser Sri Lank but they were no where close to Afghanistan cricket team. Afghanistan team proved why any match win is the result of great team work. Afghanistan players played in a group to beat Srilanka in all departments. Earlier their opening batsmen gave solid start which they converted to a good total of 249 runs on the board with help of Rahmat Shah who made 72 runs and other batsman also contributed with the bat as a result Sri Lanka needed 250 runs to win the match but they failed.

Srilankan opener came to the crease but Afghan spinners were in no mood to give them any space to make the runs. Srilankan batsmen tried their beat but they couldn’t convert their 20s and 30s into big one and and they were bowled out for 158 runs only and Afghanistan Team beat Sri Lanka first time in One-day international match.

Brief Score

Afghanistan Inns : Rahmat Shah – 72(90), Ihsanullah Janat – 45(65), Thisara Perera – 9-55-5, Akila Dananjaya – 10-39-2.

Sri Lanka Inns : Upul Tharanga – 36(64), Thisara Parera – 28(36), Mujeeb Ur Rahman – 9-1-32-2, Mohammad Nabi – 10-1-30-2, Rashid Khan – 7.2-26-2.


Sri Lanka (Playing XI) : Upul Tharanga, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera (wk), Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Mathews (c), Dasun Shanaka, Thisara Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Akila Dananjaya, Lasith Malinga, Dushmantha Chameera.

Afghanistan (Playing XI) : Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Ihsanullah Janat, Rahmat Shah, Gulbadin Naib, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan (c), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Aftab Alam, Mujeeb Ur Rahman.